Frequently Asked Questions

Community organizations, nonprofits organizations, research institutions (including those affiliated with universities or government-supported institutes), local governments, service providers, private businesses, public-private partnerships, and social businesses are eligible to apply.

National government ministries/departments and international organizations are not eligible to apply, but organizations funded by a national government or international organization may be considered.
(For questions, contact us at [email protected].)

Applicants do not have to be registered legal entities. For example, informal coalitions, associations, or clubs may be considered.

No. Applicants must be based in one of the following countries/regions: 

  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • China (including Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR, and Taiwan)
  • Indonesia
  • Japan
  • Laos
  • Malaysia
  • Myanmar (Burma)
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam

No. Applying for the award is completely free.

Yes. If your organization applied in the past but did not receive the Grand Prize, you are welcome to apply again this year.

Please note that there are some changes to the application form, so you will need to complete the new version and submit it prior to the deadline to be considered for the award in 2024.

Yes. If more than one organization is involved in the creation and/or implementation of the innovation, you may list all collaborating organizations on the form. However, please designate one individual for the purpose of communications regarding this application, and give that person’s contact information.

If your group’s innovation is selected as the Grand Prize winner, the group will receive a single trophy, although we will be able to provide separate certificates to all organizations involved.

Generally speaking, organizations should only apply for one innovation per year.
However, if there are different project teams or departments within an organization that are carrying out different innovations, then they can apply. In that case, please indicate the division or project team name on the application form as well as the organization name.

No. Applicants should only apply for innovations that they have developed themselves. If a separate branch of your organization has created an innovation that you think deserves the award, please encourage them to apply. If you have substantially altered the original program or product so that it can be considered a unique innovation, you can apply.

Awardees will be selected with the assistance of a multinational advisory committee. In 2024, up to 10 finalists will be selected based on the committee’s review of the written applications. Finalists will participate in online interviews with the committee (translation will be provided as needed). Based on the interviews and applications, the committee will select awardees.

Individual information received by the award secretariat will be appropriately handled according to the privacy policies of JCIE ( and ERIA ( and will be used solely for the purposes of this program or for the distribution by our organizations of notices regarding related requests for proposals, events, and other news.

[Last Updated: 1/30/2024]